Quarterly

Artistic Statement

            Photography has always been a hobby of mine, but since I started taking this photography class, its transformed into something more. It’s become an outlet for me to express myself. The photos I’ve taken vary with my mood, so it’s hard to say what my theme is, but I defiantly have a style that is unique. I like to take pictures that are zoomed in on the subject with a blurry background. Most of my pictures also have unique camera angles and contrast in textures. If my subject is a person, I try to capture them in a real emotion, not a pose because the mood of the picture is stronger when the subject’s emotion is legitimate. I prefer to take pictures of inanimate objects because it’s easier to get the picture I want.

            There are a lot of things that people don’t really pay attention to or things that people don’t view as beautiful and those are most of the object that I capture. I like to expose these objects and portray them as beautiful in my picture by making them my main focus. I like to think that these pictures will open the viewer’s eyes because of what they convey. This style of photography also makes my pictures unique.

            My goals as a photographer are to express myself and take pictures that will draw people in. Further, maybe one day viewers can relate to the mood of my photos. I become inspired by people, nature, and weather and if I can inspire someone else with my photographs, then I’m happy. There is no doubt that the world of photography has been shown to me, and I plan to explore it further.

~ by samdasilva on April 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
